Polygone Mesh in Harare

exhibitions, Zimbabwe
For those that are too far from Harare centre, I have made some photographs of the exhibition in the First Floor Gallery of Harare. The exhibition does not have titles, price-lists or name tags to disturb the visitor from enjoying the art.(true Gaidaro style)
K_Van, visual artist from the Netherlands shows his new paintings in
the First floor gallery Harare. It seems as if the objects in the paintings come out of the wall. Bulky, angular and industrial forms painted in tones and hues of green. “I break objects down with 3D design programs,” explains the artist, “Once I have a grid, I transfer the lines onto a canvas, tracing each vector using needle and thread.” The artist then paints the grids using oil paints in different layers and tones of colour. K_Van is not a new to Harare, he has exhibited here before in 1994. ‘My previous visit greatly influenced my work, this is the importance of cultural dialogue. When I returned home my vision had changed and I started to work  with a greater diversity of materials. Now that I am back, I realise that the Zimbabwean influence might have been deeper. Visiting the National Gallery of Zimbabwe again I looked at the strong angular lines in Nicholas Mukomberanwa’s sculptures. These lines must inspire many artists and I feel that through the years they have subconsciously influenced my work.

K_Van’s work can be seen at the First floor gallery Harare.
George Silundika ave 24 Mercury house from 10:30-17:00 or by appointment.
0776600683

The exhibition will run until the 1st of December 2012 with a presentation at 17:00

http://www.mondriaanfonds.nl/__we_thumbs__/1161_1_Logo-NL-web.jpghttp://www.mondriaanfonds.nl/__we_thumbs__/1161_1_Logo-NL-web.jpg

a Nicholas Mukomberanwa’s sculpture

Leave a Reply

